UBFism – Discipleship Model

The UBF discipleship model, as we former leaders understand it, is composed of two phases: sheep training and shepherd training. The total UBF training period is typically 7 to 9 years in total. After that, you are expected to be a lifelong UBF loyalist and shepherd. In this model, the disciple has much difficulty discerning between following Jesus and following UBF. The cyclic pattern blurs the line until God equates to the UBF organization.

The outline below is derived from our former leadership experience at UBF and also from a publicly posted UBF presentation, entitled: 2010 Fishing and Outreach Director’s Conference. The cycle is intended to repeat for a person’s entire lifetime.

Source reference:

Sheep Training (up to 5 years)

Stage 1: Birthing (1 to 9 months)

Goal – commit to bible study
Starts after first bible study

Stage 2: Rooting (1 to 2 years)

Goal – adopt the UBF worldview
Starts after Sunday service attendance

Stage 3: Growing (1 to 2 years)

Goal – pursue more training
Starts after sharing Life Testimony

Shepherd Training (2 to 4 years)

Stage 4: Disciple Training (about 1 year)

Goal – identity as “Shepherd X”
Starts after joining common life

Stage 5: Soldier Training (1 to 2 years)

Goal – obedience to UBF authorities
Starts after college graduation

Stage 6: Leader Training (about 1 year)

Goal – loyalty for life
Starts after Marriage by Faith